Make Your Own Art

“Painting is easy when you don’t know how, but very difficult when you do.” – Edgar Degas.

I am painting purely for my own pleasure. Sometimes it is hard and the harder I try the bigger mess I make a lot of the time. On the other hand I will never be Mr Degas so I don’t need to worry about my reputation :). But as someone said it is cheaper than therapy.

Me and my boyfriend binged watched “Halt and Catch Fire” show on Amazon Prime.  (I shall do a separate post on that gem!)

One of the characters had a canvas painting of horses silhouette on a white background with very little color.  Unfortunately I could not find the name of the artist on the interweb, so if you peeps know what I am talking about please let me know who the artist is.

 

I actually made silhouette painting later that weekend together with a step by step guide below.

What You Will Need:

  • 1 Canvas or Canvas Pad
  • Scissors, pencil
  • Scrap paper for cut outs
  • Acrylic paint. I used plain white, blue acrylic paint and 4 x 75ml Reeves Metallic Acrylic Art Paints Tubes Gold Silver Bronze
  • Standard painting brushes and a rolling paint brush. I made one my self by sticking a stick through a sponge

Easy to Follow Tutorial – Make Your Own Art

Why? Because its is fun, good activity to do on your own or with someone and it is therapeutic!

Step 1: Paint base. Completely cover the canvas with with white or very pale base colors. I usually thin my acrylic paint until it resembles the consistency of watercolor Apply paint confidently with no hesitation. Leave it to dry.

Step 2: Create a stencil. Draw with a pencil a silhouette of desired object, in my case a deer. Decide on the size in relation to your canvas. Pinterest has a big collection of example silhouettes. Cut your silhouette out using either scissors or x-acto knife. Mind the edges. 1

Step 3: The stencil now can be used on the dry canvas. In my painting I have 2 figures I chose one to be behind the glitter layer of acrylic and one on top in order to create perspective. Use plain black or dark shades of grey. Hold the silhouette steady on top of the canvas and paint inside with chosen paint. Carefully remove stencil and leave it to dry.

Step 4: Once dry apply generously metallic acrylic paint onto scrap paper and roll it out until paint is equally spread on the roller. Steadily roll paint onto canvas in equal strokes from top to bottom. Change up color to your taste. You could either go over parts of the silhouettes with the paint or avoid it depending on composition. Ensure painting dries in a safe place.

5

To Finish: Frame it and you’re ready to change up the decor 🙂

18597084_10211531912925598_597203644_o

Share with me your results by tweeting me via @PolinaBlochina

PS: If you love the 80’s interiors and want to get inspired please check out interesting Interview with Halt and Catch Fire Set Decorator Lance Totten

http://mirror80.com/2015/07/halt-and-catch-fire-interview-lance-totten/

Leave a Reply

